You Can Get Fit!

Recipe Saturday: Katie’s Cinnamon Bun Pie, and… Inspiration

Posted on: February 25, 2012

Hey, Y’all!

So, I made it back before the end of the month. Aren’t you proud?

I’ve been slogging through recipes and, as I said before, I’ve been rather uninspired. But one that struck me (ouch! OK, maybe not that hard) last week was another one by the lovely Chocolate Covered Katie. She has healthified so many recipes and adapted them to a variety of special diets–vegan, gluten-free–but that’s not what matters to me. What I care about is that they still taste good, and that she uses real food, not something synthetic!

I won’t steal her thunder, but I’ll post a link to the recipe that I’m going to make again either today or tomorrow (time-pending). It’s a bean-based (yes, you read correctly) pie that really does taste like a cinnamon roll! The only thing that I’d consider remotely unhealthy is the presence of white sugar. Everything else…. I don’t hold back and let myself have dessert!

I make it in a square container (pi R squared…. ha, whatever) and I didn’t even feel the need to add any icing. She does provide an icing recipe if you’d like even more sweet goodness. Here’s the link:

Cinnamon Roll Pie

Try it!

Now, on to point 2, inspiration: I read a lot of books, several I like, but right now, I’m reading a book that I cannot put down. It’s the first book by Howard Schultz, CEO of Starbucks, called Pour Your Heart Into It. It tells the history of Schultz’ joining the company, leaving the company, rejoining, etc etc… but he also adds in his inspirational tidbits, phrases such as “what if I hadn’t made that second phone call to convince X that this was the right move? Imagine where the world and the company would be now. I”m so glad I took that risk.” and so on. (I’m totally paraphrasing, but you get the idea!) I think of these types of things all the time, but the way he and his co-author write… really inspire my entrepreneurial side! Great stuff, highly recommended.

So, now you have something to bake and a side of coffee to read this weekend! Get on it! :)

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 19 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

