You Can Get Fit!

You’re So Vain

Posted on: June 15, 2010

Whenever I practice yoga in a room with mirrors, I plop my mat down as close as I can to the mirror. Lest you, or the others in the class, believe I have vanity issues (ok, I have been known to tuck a stray hair back into place), I’m mostly concerned about my body alignment. Proper body alignment during a workout will help prevent injury, and it also helps you get the most out of every second of your exercise session. No wasted time!

You’ve heard for years to keep your knees behind your toes when you do a squat, right? Like you’re sitting in a chair, but someone took the chair away from you at the last minute? In your mind’s eye, you think you’re doing a proper squat, but how do you really know, unless you see yourself in a mirror?

At first, it’s weird to spend your entire workout staring at yourself, I know. I still get freaked out by it, and I teach entire classes facing a mirror, some days. So, work yourself into the idea by having the mirror at your side. Just don’t crane your neck sideways and give yourself a neck cramp, ok? Take a peek every now and then.

And you know what? You’ll find that after a few months of checking your form in the mirror, your body will automatically know where to go. You won’t have to look in the mirror so often anymore! Progress! Your body and mind getting stronger together!

2 Responses to "You’re So Vain"

The only thing I’m missing when I yoga at home is a BIG mirror. It helps a lot 🙂

Me too! When I first started working with trainers, and they’d reposition me just a little bit, I remember thinking: “Tsk! I know what I’m doing!” 😀 But then, I quickly realized that I might not be able to see the fine details of my body positioning that they can. It’s just that I couldn’t see myself!

Keep at it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 20 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
