You Can Get Fit!

The Pros and Cons of Workout Buddies

Posted on: July 6, 2010

How many times have you credited your workout buddy for getting you through your workout, or even getting you to your workout? It’s great having someone we have to report to, someone who will know for sure when we aren’t following our exercise schedule, and who will gently harass us when we aren’t doing what we should.

Besides, having a lunchtime walking partner at work is a great way to catch up on watercooler gossip, or just to build work relationships. And having a buddy in the weight room at the gym is a great way to egg you on, pushing you through to squeeze out those last few reps… we all know that when no one’s looking, we’ll end our last set early. (I do, too!)

But, beware of herd mentality. When one person in the group starts to slack off, they all do. If one person in your walking group suddenly has a reason (justifiable or not) to back out for a while, everyone will start to find an excuse. Soon, no one from the group is exercising. Don’t let yourself fall into the excuse trap of “my walking partner couldn’t make it, so I can’t make it, either.” Remember: whether or not the group is there, you provide your own motivation. You deserve the exercise, right? So, do it!

After all, if, in the end, you are the only one left standing in the walking group, still soldiering on, that should make you really proud that you’re still going strong!

7 Responses to "The Pros and Cons of Workout Buddies"

Great post, thanks!

My friends and I def. do both – motivate each other and help each other slack off! 🙂 I think I am good at motivating friends to workout w/me but I am very much against crash diets (or diets in general, really) so I have a hard time being supportive of friends when they go on crazy diets. I just think balance is healthier!

~andrea
yogabyandrea.com

Thanks, Andrea! 🙂

Luckily, I don’t think any of my friends are crash-dieters–we all love food. 😀 But I do see a lot of the excuse-making when the workout partner can’t make it to the gym. It’s not like they help you push the buttons on the treadmill! 😀 Bring your iPod, live in your own head… you just might learn something about yourself when you work out on your own, which can be a scary thing! 😉

Wow… lots of smilies. Yikes!

My Husband and I work out together. We are great motivation for each other..we blog about here – http://www.500Calories.net. Just found “You Can Get Fit” – Love it, gonna link it to our blog

Hey Jeannie, great to have you here! I just skimmed your blog and will read it more thoroughly later — congrats to you and Lee on the weight loss and continued success!

Thanks, I’m looking through your blog now as well.

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 19 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
