You Can Get Fit!

Recipe Friday: Crustless Quiche

Posted on: July 30, 2010

Is it a quiche? A frittata? Or just a big baked omelet? Whatever you call it, I’ve been making this for years, and it’s not only a great protein source, but also a way to get rid of whatever it is you have left over in your fridge. Well… almost everything. 😉 I can’t say I’d try watermelon in quiche.

Good news? It’s healthy, as well. I’ve always loved quiche, but oh, the crust and the fat… This works without a crust, and bakes up solid on the bottom. Reheats very well!

Crustless Quiche
Adapted from many recipes found on the web long ago

8 eggs, or equivalent egg substitute
½ c milk (use whatever variety you want, but I’ve had best luck with 1% and 2%)
¼ tsp sea salt
½ tsp fresh ground pepper

Fillings: options are fairly limitless, so use your imagination, but here are some ideas to get you started: (I use about ½ cup each)
sautéed mushrooms
broccoli
chopped tomato
your favorite cheese
cooked sausage (bulk or sliced links)
ham
chopped, pre-cooked chicken
minced garlic (obviously more like a tsp!)
caramelized onions
sautéed bell peppers
Or… whatever suits you!

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Whisk eggs in a bowl. Add milk, salt, and pepper to combine. (If you want to add other seasonings which complement your fillings, you may do so now; for instance, caramelized onions, sautéed peppers, and jack cheese might go great with a dash of cumin!)

3. Grease or cooking-spray an 8 x 8 baking dish. Start layering in your filling ingredients, starting with the densest/heaviest at the bottom. They may end up stacking about halfway up the dish in the end.

4. Pour your egg mixture evenly over the filling ingredients, covering everything. Bake the quiche at 350 degrees for 40 minutes, or until the eggs are set.

5. Let cool for about 10 minutes, then cut into squares and enjoy!

Please let me know if you come up with any outstanding quiche filling ideas! Or… any I shouldn’t try! ☺

By the way, if you haven’t already seen my guest post at Susan’s Pilates blog today, check it out! (Thanks, Susan, for the opportunity!)

4 Responses to "Recipe Friday: Crustless Quiche"

Thanks Brooke. This will be the next thing I try.

And such an easy way to get rid of fridge leftovers! (Maybe not chocolate.)

Brooke, the thanks goes to you for agreeing to tell your story on my site. Your struggles, journey and ultimate success is an inspiration. And I will be checking back for recipes!
Susan

Always a pleasure, Susan! I always love to share my story, but it’s tough to figure out how and when. Now, I feel I can point people to a link. Thanks for giving me this opportunity.

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 19 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
