You Can Get Fit!

Recipe Friday: Chickpeas and Pasta with Sizzling Sage and Garlic

Posted on: September 3, 2010

You like garlic? I know you’re drooling. I do. I am! This is awesome stuff, and this is one of the first vegetarian recipes where Bruce told me he didn’t miss the meat. (Usually when I cook something meatless, he tells me, “this is really good, if only it had a side of chicken sausage…”)

Just make sure you have lots of parsley or breath mints on hand before you go out.

Chickpeas and Pasta with Sizzling Sage and Garlic

from Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone

1 large onion, diced
¼ c extra virgin olive oil
salt and freshly-ground pepper
large pinch red pepper flakes (be as generous as you want!)
3 c cooked chickpeas or 2 15-oz cans, drained
8 oz large farfalle or other dried pasta shapes (I’ve used small shells. The beans get enrobed in the shells!)
2 large garlic cloves, chopped
3 tbsp chopped fresh sage

1. In a wide skillet over medium heat, fry the onion in two tbsp of the oil until golden, stirring frequently especially toward the end. Season with salt, plenty of pepper, and the pepper flakes.

2. Add the chickpeas and turn the heat to low. (I like to cook the chickpeas long enough so they get slightly chewy on the outside.)

3. Meanwhile, boil the pasta in salted water until al dente, then add it to the chickpeas.

4. Heat the remaining oil in a small skillet over high heat. Add the garlic and sage and fry for 20 seconds (I usually go for about a minute). Immediately pour over the dish and serve.

Sometimes I double the garlic and sage topping, even. Hey, you only live once!

2 Responses to "Recipe Friday: Chickpeas and Pasta with Sizzling Sage and Garlic"

I love garlic, sage and chickpeas and this sounds divine! I am going to try it now that the weather is colder– seems like the perfect meal for fall.

Hey, I eat it anytime! 🙂 I love chickpeas so much, maybe I should start another blog dedicated to my love of chickpea recipes… 😀

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 20 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
