You Can Get Fit!

Do It For You!

Posted on: September 14, 2010

Why do you want to lose weight? Think about it. Is it only because your doctor told you so? Is it because of a nagging spouse, “you were thinner when we met in high school”? Or a relative who wishes well, but finds just the wrong way to show their concern?

Let me tell you that weight loss won’t work unless you do it for you. You have to be the reason that you’re losing weight. You’re not doing it to make anyone else happy. They might be pleasantly surprised as a side-effect, but you need to be the primary reason for your weight loss, right? You are worth losing weight and taking care of yourself!

Since Day One, I’ve always realized that I am most important in the weight loss game. Even so, back then, my motivation was superficial: when I was a teenager losing weight, I was thrilled to be able to wear cute clothes, just like my friends did. So, I kept myself in mind while losing the weight, but with vanity as a higher priority (hey, I was a teenager!). Now, while I’m still the focus, it is for different reasons. I keep my weight in a healthy range because I have had a few knee surgeries, and I wouldn’t think of putting too much weight on that leg. Nor would I think of eating too much junk after a health scare early this year.

Whatever your motivation, make sure that you make your healthy changes with you as your top priority. What are you doing for your health today? (Me, just like most Tuesdays, I’m eating all vegan/no processed food.)

1 Response to "Do It For You!"

[…] What is your motivation for eating healthy and/or losing weight? Make sure that you are doing it for you. […]

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 19 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
