You Can Get Fit!

BONUS Recipe Sunday: Banana Mocha (or, just Chocolate) Smoothie

Posted on: September 26, 2010

We’ve all been there, right? That overripe banana, full of brown spots, staring you down. What do you do with it? Sure, you could make banana bread (again), but haven’t you already done that too many times?

That’s when I got an idea. I always put frozen fruit in smoothies, and while I’ve had frozen bananas in fruit smoothies before, I thought, why not make a pseudo-Frappucino? So instead of slurping down all of the fat (yumminess), empty calories (lusciousness), and sugar, I’ve replaced them with banana (potassium) and cocoa powder (antioxidants). Your choice to add whipped cream… eh, you only live once! I give you permission.

So, here’s my beta version of the Banana Mocha Smoothie. If you don’t like coffee, feel free to omit it, and let me know how it tastes just with chocolate! The only advance preparation required involves freezing the banana.

Banana Mocha Smoothie

a You Can Get Fit original

1 medium-large banana, cut into slices and frozen
scant ¼ c strong cold coffee
1 tsp (or more!) cocoa powder
¾ c milk (of your choice: skim, whole, 1%, soy, almond…)
½ tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp maple syrup (or more, to desired sweetness)

Place all ingredients in blender (starting with banana) and blend until smooth. Makes about 16 oz. Garnish by dusting with cinnamon or nutmeg, if desired.

I can’t pretend that you’ll close your eyes and make-believe you’re at Starbucks, but this tastes pretty darn good! Tell me what you guys think, especially if you try the coffee-free version, or a non-cow milk version!

Tags:

8 Responses to "BONUS Recipe Sunday: Banana Mocha (or, just Chocolate) Smoothie"

I do this all the time!!! sort of…sometimes it is just frozen banana and milk…sometimes I add a smidge of cinnamon, and/or a Tbsp of peanut butter and/or a dollop of ovaltine. Makes an awesome breakfast! 🙂

oops…posted before I finished….I love the balance of ingredients you have. I will have to try using cocoa powder…that probably is better for you than ovaline…thanks for sharing!!!

Hey Sara,

I was thinking that all sorts of food bloggers would’ve done this sort of thing, and when I was putting together my idea, I Googled it for the wisdom of others to help me out with ratios. And I didn’t find anything remotely similar to what I was thinking!

Some people had done it without coffee but with ice cream and chocolate syrup (I was trying to make it less desserty). There were a few recipes using coffee-flavored yogurt (I’ve tried that before, and… well, I’ve yet to find a brand that doesn’t disgust me. I also didn’t want the sourness of yogurt). Probably the one that came the closest used vanilla pudding mix, but I’m trying to avoid too many artificial ingredients, and I’m trying to keep my ingredient list short.

So–I decided to strike out on my own! 🙂

(but I did have a lot of ovaltine as a kid!!!)

coffee + maple syrup? Oooh this sounds just perfect 🙂

Hi, Lisa! Good to see you here! (My little sis is in Aus, Adelaide, to be precise!)

I just used the maple to have a non-white sugar sweetener. Ends up that it blended well with the coffee to contribute a caramelly flavor. Happy accident! (A Canadian coffee chain used to make maple macchiatos, but they were never maple enough, so I never fully explored this wonderful combination.)

This looks fantastic. I love that you’ve included coffee in the mix. Anything with a little coffee is a winner in my book. Thanks for the recipe. I’m going to try it out today.

Awesome, Jodi! Let me know what you think. This was the first time I’d included coffee in a smoothie, and it was a success! 🙂

[…] About Me BONUS Recipe Sunday: Banana Mocha (or, just Chocolate) Smoothie […]

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 19 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
