You Can Get Fit!

Recipe Friday: Mexican Hamburger Casserole

Posted on: October 1, 2010

This one screams “one-pot ‘70’s dish comfort food”. (Not that there’s anything wrong with that!) But wait, there’s more! It contains the goodness of spinach and tomatoes, yet they’re hidden by a (lightened) yummy, creamy sauce that even picky eaters will enjoy. I love this casserole, and so have others that have tried it.

If you don’t do beef, it also works with ground turkey. I imagine it also works with veggie crumbles. Oh, and leftovers reheat wonderfully!

Mexican Hamburger Casserole

adapted from the internet

1 lb lean ground beef (or turkey or veggie crumbles)
1 large onion, chopped
1 tsp cumin
2 tsp chili powder
(dash cayenne if desired for extra spiciness)
1 10 oz package frozen spinach, thawed and drained
1 15 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 can RoTel (or other) Mexican-style tomatoes, drained
1/3 c light sour cream
1 8 oz package light cream cheese, softened

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. In a large skillet, brown the meat over medium heat, along with the onion. When the meat is thoroughly cooked, add the cumin and chili powder (and cayenne if desired) and thoroughly mix in. Turn off heat. Add remaining ingredients one at a time, and stir until thoroughly blended.

3. Pour mixture into oiled 8×8 casserole dish. Bake for 30 minutes or until bubbly.

Great way to get beans and veggies into picky eaters! It’s a great casserole to keep you warm during the winter.

2 Responses to "Recipe Friday: Mexican Hamburger Casserole"

Casserole has to be god’s gift to all working mothers! They are the best because they can be prepared ahead of time and thrown into the oven when you need a fast dinner. I love coming home and not having to worry about dinner because I have already prepared it the night before. I love Mexican Recipes and I really like this casserole. I work with Better Recipes so I am constantly reviewing recipes and personally I think the best ones are the simple and fast ones. Anything that involves a crock pot or casserole dish is golden in my book!

Hi Lauren!
Thanks for stopping by! I love this casserole because it tastes really good (always a bonus!!! who’ll eat it if it tastes awful?), and it reheats–dare I say–better than it cooks up! So many nutrients in this, too, with the black beans, tomatoes, and spinach…
Just took a glance at your link, and my mouth is watering! I love Mexican food, too!!! (California native at heart!) I’ll have to try a few of the recipes.

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 19 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
