You Can Get Fit!

A 5K by Thanksgiving! Can I Do That?

Posted on: October 26, 2010

Of course you can! A 5K is only 3.1 miles, and that’s a great goal for anyone who’s just getting their feet wet in exercising, or someone who’s been running/walking for a while and wants to test their abilities.

Thanksgiving weekend is just over 5 weeks away, which gives you plenty of time to build up to the big day. The good thing about a goal is having an end-point to work towards. Rather than running or walking the same ho-hum route, day-in, day-out, you’ll want to improve with each outing. Suddenly, working out becomes less routine and more exciting!

How do you prepare yourself for a 5K? There are many training programs online—just let your fingers do the walking. This article at Runner’s World talks about running your first 5K after five weeks of training, and this plan will get you there in the same amount of time. If walking’s your gig, just substitute the word “walk” for “run” in the plan.

If this is your first race, I suggest setting a goal of just finishing and having fun! Especially in a “turkey trot” or “fun run”, most of the participants will be casual runners just like you, and the crowd will be too large to set any land speed records. With any luck, you’ll catch the racing bug, and start looking for more!

5K’s are easy to find through web searches, and the schedule varies, depending on where you live (for instance, they tend to be held year-round here in the temperate Northwest, but you probably won’t find one in July in Arizona). If you’re in the Seattle area during Thanksgiving, check out the Seattle Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving morning!

Have you run a 5K? (I was 18 and overconfident when I ran my first. Don’t go out too fast!) What would be your advice to someone running their first?

8 Responses to "A 5K by Thanksgiving! Can I Do That?"

This is great! I am actually planning on running a 5K the weekend before. I finished my first 10K on Oct. 3rd and that was a little beyond my current running level so I am excited for the 5K. Since I haven’t been running much the past few weeks, I think it will be the perfect balance between fun and a challenge!

~andrea
http://www.yogabyandrea.com

Yay, Andrea! I’m sure one of these days, you’ll also be back to fight the mighty 10K!

(btw–haven’t forgotten about you and my 5K charity idea. Someone is willing to give me a LOT of advice after Halloween, so I’m waiting it out! I’ll likely be contacting you after that!)

A great goal, you can totally pull through!

Yeah–I totally believe that anyone has the power to do this! Let’s go! 🙂

Hi there!

I’ve got here from Karol’s Ridiculously Extraordinary blog and I’m so happy I did that!

I’ve thought of starting to jog (run?) for a long time already but I didn’t know how to do it, where to start — what distance is right for the begginer, where is it safe to run and so on. And you placed here same great links that I believe will help me set off.

Thanks! 🙂

Hi Kacper!
Great to see you here! What great timing–I’m glad I could give you some advice!

For anyone starting out, I say–don’t get discouraged! It’s so easy to set expectations, that we “should” be able to run this distance or that speed. Just focus on how strong you feel during and after your run! And really, the most important thing is starting, and just getting out there. Congratulations on taking the first step! 🙂

Hi Brooke,
Just read your reply to my post on Ridiculously Extraordinary. I know exactly what you mean about the friends thing. I’m in Denver and it’s the same here. But if you ever come to Denver you have a place to come for dinner 🙂
-Torrie

Hey Torrie–
BLAH! I’m afraid this attitude is permeating everywhere. People watching 30 hours of TV a week, they have 500+ facebook “friends”… and then, they complain that they never see anyone face-to-face. I’ve stopped spending much on dinner parties (I cook more cheaply for them) because I’ve had too many last-minute bails…

My husband is sure there’ll be some “big thing” that will cause society to shift back toward community. Me… notsomuch. As people become more and more depressed over… whatever, they’ll just ease their pain with the latest videogame and some high-fructose corn syrup. 😉

Oh, and enjoy your 5K training! 😀 :p

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 19 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
