You Can Get Fit!

How To Roast Broccoli

Posted on: November 2, 2010

Aiee, I’ve fallen behind for numerous reasons, among them, hosting a Halloween dessert party. Yes, I made cranberry-orange curd (to dip apples) and… it was fantastic!!! (A little thinner than the lemon, but tastes marvelous!) So, just try it, same recipe, about 2/3 unsweetened cranberry juice, 1/3 orange juice, and I also added about 1 tbsp lemon juice (too sweet, otherwise). Follow the rest of the lemon curd recipe as-is!

Another recipe I just had to try on my own last week: I’d never roasted broccoli, and I’d heard such great things about it. I did a web search and came up with a bunch of recipes involving bread crumbs, butter, and cheese. Hm, I guess I could find some sort of health benefit if I dig down below all of that. Finally, I unearthed a healthier recipe (apparently originally from Barefoot Contessa) at Amateur Gourmet, and decided to try it out. I made some of my own modifications, especially on my second batch. It still contains olive oil and some Parmesan, but not to the artery-clogging levels of the other recipes I found.

The verdict? It was good, but not show-stopping. There was an interesting flavor that reminded me of potato chips… in a good way.

Roasted Broccoli
adapted from Amateur Gourmet

3 crowns broccoli, chopped into large florets, including stems–UNWASHED
olive oil
4 garlic cloves, peeled and sliced
sea salt and freshly ground pepper
1 lemon
¼ c freshly grated Parmesan cheese

1. Preheat oven to 425.

2. Place your UNWASHED (water will prevent proper roasting) broccoli in a large bowl. Add a few tbsp olive oil, the sliced garlic, some grinds of pepper, and about ½ tsp salt. Stir well to coat.

3. Dump the broccoli out onto a cookie sheet and spread evenly (single layer, if you can). Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until the tips of some of the florets are browned.

4. Once out of the oven, squeeze the juice of ½ lemon over the broccoli (reserve the other half, if you want to add more; I was fine with this amount) as well as the ¼ c Parmesan. Mix well. Adjust seasonings (you may also want to add more cheese or lemon, here). Some extra (raw) olive oil is nice at this point, for a slightly fruity flavor.

Enjoy your tasty high-fiber side dish!

Meanwhile, let’s hope you didn’t eat this much candy on Halloween… I kinda feel sorry for this guy…

2 Responses to "How To Roast Broccoli"

I roast broccoli all the time. Pure and simple. Broccoli florets tossed with olive oil and coarse salt, right on the cookie sheet which btw I cover in heavy duty tin foil. Oven 450. Tossed around half way through. 20-30 minutes. That’s it. However, there are those nights when broccoli is not enough and in that case I add string beans and or brussel sprouts for a melange of roasted veggies. These particular veggies cook in the same amount of time.

btw if you want to add Parmesan cheese may I suggest you do so the last 5 to 10 minutes of roasting, as it will bubble and brown. Very yummy indeed.

Cool! (dare I say I still can’t stand brussels sprouts, shame) I also avoid cooking with foil when I can, because of the possible link to Alzheimer’s. Yeah, it’s not definitive research, but I lost a grandparent to the disease, so I’ve gotten rid of all the aluminum cooking devices I can. I cover my casserole dishes with foil when I need to contain the moisture, as long as it doesn’t touch the baking food… (now, y’all think I’m a freak!)

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 20 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
