You Can Get Fit!

Recipe Friday: Sweet Potato and Shrimp Chowder

Posted on: November 19, 2010

It’s soup time! We have our first (potential) snow (maybe) predicted in the area for the weekend… (can you tell how much I trust the forecasters around here?) and in any case, I definitely feel a new chill in the air. A few days ago, I tried this soup recipe that I saw in the recent Shape magazine. I don’t usually make the recipes from fitness magazines, but hey, when it looks good, why not?

This one is full of good vegetables that all come together with great flavor: sweet potato, corn, tomatoes, green onion… Also, shrimp contain a lot of lowfat protein. The sweetness of the corn and sweet potatoes balanced nicely with the savory broth and thyme. It came together quickly, and was a hearty dinner with a crusty bread.

Sweet Potato and Shrimp Chowder
from Shape Magazine

¾ pound large shrimp
1 tbsp olive oil
1 c chopped scallions
1 tbsp minced garlic
2 tbsp flour
1 14.5 oz can stewed tomatoes
1 c low-sodium chicken broth
2 c diced sweet potato
1 c frozen corn
1 c diced green pepper
¼ tsp freshly ground black pepper
1 tbsp thyme leaves

1. Peel and devein shrimp, and set aside.

2. (Be prepared: this part moves fast!) In a medium saucepan, heat oil over medium-high. Add ½ c of the scallions and the garlic and cook, stirring, for 10 seconds. Stir in flour and cook, stirring, for 5 seconds. Add tomatoes, broth, and 1 ½ c cold water, then increase heat to high and bring to a boil.

3. Add potato, corn, green pepper, and black pepper and return to a boil. Cover, reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer for 10 minutes or until potatoes are just tender. Add shrimp and thyme leaves, raise heat to medium-high, and cook, stirring, for 3-5 minutes or until shrimp are just cooked.

4. Garnish with remaining ½ c scallions.

Enjoy! What’s your favorite winter soup?

2 Responses to "Recipe Friday: Sweet Potato and Shrimp Chowder"

This sounds great, Brooke! I love soups all year long, but my fave winter soup is probably lentil. Something warm and hearty about it. Can’t wait to make this one!

Oh, I make lots of lentil things (reminds me! I should post the red lentil-lime-yogurt stew I’ve made… hey, there’s one for next week! Thanks for the idea!). I always have lentils in my pantry, and some friends who cook with me have teased me for it. But I actually USE them!

I make soup all year long, too, but you gotta admit, it’s easy for us up here to enjoy soup in the summer, since we barely break 80 degrees! 😀 If we lived in Orlando, would we be talking about summer soup? Other than gaspacho? 😉

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 19 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
