You Can Get Fit!

Causing Change: Living Your Life

Posted on: December 12, 2010

I’ve been stymied, recently, by “what do you want out of life” and “what are your goals in life” articles. That’s a big question, right? My first kneejerk response is easy: I want to nourish my body and exercise regularly, but that’s merely a means to an end. There’s a big picture in life—there are lots of fun things out there—and we have so many choices, sometimes it’s hard to choose when asked what we want to do. Heck, I still am not entirely sure what I want to be when I grow up.

So, it struck me earlier today to reframe the question, and it’s made it easier to decide on at least the smaller level. I have a hard time dealing with the status quo (why be like everyone else?) and feel constant need for change, so even if my tweak is a small one, I feel like it’s a step in the right direction.

My reframing is this: instead of “what do I want out of life”, ask “what would I change in my life” or “what am I dissatisfied with in my life”. And then, figure out how it could be changed. This could clearly work on so many levels:

  • If you’re dissatisfied with your weight, start exercising and/or improve your eating habits.
  • If you’re dissatisfied with the amount of sleep you get, try watching ½ hour less TV and put that time toward shut-eye instead.
  • If you’re dissatisfied with your bank account, cut back on little things (cook less meat at home, which has led me to discover great lentil recipes; don’t drink fancy coffees; use your library rather than buying books; you get the picture)
  • If you’re dissatisfied with your relationship with your significant other, ask yourself: when was the last time the two of you sat down and had a serious, non-confrontational chat?
  • And so on.

    No, it is not easy. But you’ll find it to be personally rewarding (and occasionally financially rewarding). I recently was feeling in a social slump (regular friends, I love you guys! don’t worry!) and joined a choral group in which I knew no one. Took a risk, went to that first rehearsal almost a month ago, and sang in two fantastic Christmas shows with them last night. I figured in the worst case, if I hated the first rehearsal, I only lost one night. But these ladies are fantastic, and I see myself developing long-term friendships.

    So, what does it hurt to take a small risk, or to create minor, temporary discomfort in your life to create BIG, REWARDING change??!?! I guarantee you’ll love the results.

    What kind of changes have you all made recently? Do it, do it!!!

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 19 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
