You Can Get Fit!

Recipe Friday: Homemade Enchilada Sauce!

Posted on: April 1, 2011

I’m not foolin’ ya… this is an awesome recipe!!!

I will never, ever use the canned or bottled stuff again after this past Wednesday! Easy, just a little bit of prep, I promise! And it tastes soooo good.

Unfortunately I was in a hurry making chicken enchiladas and didn’t snap a pic in time for y’all–but trust that it was a lovely rich orange-red shade. I can’t even find a stock photo gorgeous enough to convey the deliciousness…

This recipe was loosely based off of one from Mark Bittman’s The Best Recipes In The World, but I tweaked it quite a bit. Feel free to change up the spice mix, or make it milder/spicier to your desires. Make it your sauce!

Homemade Enchilada Sauce

3 tbsp vegetable oil
5 garlic cloves, peeled and crushed
1 medium yellow onion, peeled and quartered
1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
1 can Mexican-style diced tomatoes (such as Rotel-brand)
2 (or more, or less–depending on your tastes) dried mild New Mexico chiles, seeded and stemmed, and coarsely chopped
2 tsp cumin (or a tad more, if you’re me)
Up to 1/2 c chicken or vegetable broth
Salt and fresh-ground pepper to taste

1. Heat the oil on medium in a large skillet. Add the onion and garlic and cook, stirring occasionally, until onion is softened, about 5 minutes. (Watch the garlic, so it doesn’t burn!) Add the two cans of tomatoes (including the juice) and the pieces of dried chile. Cook another 5 minutes, or until chile is softened.

2. Add cumin and stir to combine. Take off heat, and let cool a few minutes.

3. When the sauce has reached a manageable temperature, place the whole thing in a blender and puree until smooth. You may need to add chicken or veggie broth to reach your desired consistency (I like it to be a pourable slurry), but I didn’t need any broth when I made this on Wednesday. Taste and adjust seasonings.

Put it on…well, enchiladas! (duh.) If you are putting shredded meat in the filling, moisten the filling with the sauce. Great flavor! This might also be a good mix-in for a Mexican frittata or scramble (but just a tbsp or two for flavor, so your eggs hold together).

I found this to have a medium-ish kick when I tasted it by itself, but when I put it on enchiladas, the zing got really diluted. So if you like your heat, overexaggerate and don’t fear the bold!

Speaking of being bold, do you guys remember what I wrote about yesterday? Don’t forget, you guys can help me reach a fundraising goal (yikes!) without even donating anything! Just spread the word about this blog and get me more readers! I promise–more recipes, better jokes, more drama than a Jerry Springer episode… (ok, maybe I won’t stoop that low!)

Happy April Fools’ Day! Have you seen any good pranks today?

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 20 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
