You Can Get Fit!

Success: One Change At A Time

Posted on: April 16, 2011

meeting our target!

Earlier this week, I had a Facebook chat with a friend and her brother about healthy habits. My friend is big into fitness like I am, and luckily, she’s been rubbing off on her brother: her brother quit smoking about 1 1/2 months ago. I’ve never been a smoker, but from what I’ve heard, it’s a tough habit to kick! I congratulated him on this change.

However, he started berating himself on not getting to the gym often enough. And I told him to stop that nonsense!

Stopping smoking is a big habit change for the better. (So if you’re there, way to go!) Assuming you don’t add another bad habit to compensate, give it a few months to take hold. Then you’re golden with Behavior #1! Once you feel confident with your new-found healthy behavior, you have the mental strength to tackle another–because you’ve done it once!

Little by little, your healthy habits will add up to a new, healthy you! And by adding your new behaviors individually, rather than tackling them all at once, your lifestyle change won’t feel so intimidating at the outset.

My lifestyle change for this month (that I admit I’ve repeated several times, shame) is eating a minimum of 5 fruit and vegetable servings each day. I’ve made it five days so far, successfully! Join me with your goal, and post in the comments below! Together, we can do it!

4 Responses to "Success: One Change At A Time"

Just the mere fact that he quit smoking was huge and I’m sure hard to stick with. Once he starts going to the gym on a regular basis it won’t seem like such a big deal. I am getting there with running. Nice blog by the way.

Mike,
That’s what I say–smoking is a hard habit to break, not to mention a deadly one, so I gave him a HUGE thumbs-up! (We all tend to downplay our own efforts too much, no?)

Great job on the running! I hope to be there again once my hip injury is as fixed as it’s going to get. (In the meantime, I don’t want to destroy any more cartilage…) Thanks for the compliments! Your blog looks great, too, but (shamefully says) I hardly ever watch movies! I did in college almost 20 years ago…

Wow, that is too bad about your injury. My wife and I are fairly new to running but enjoying it. If you don’t mind check out my blog again. I didn’t realize my username still had an old blog through the link. Let me know what you think of my new blog and please comment if you feel compelled.

(I don’t know why wordpress wasn’t letting me reply to your second comment… ??)

But–there, and done!

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 19 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
