You Can Get Fit!

Recipe Monday: Edible Container! :)

Posted on: April 18, 2011

So, it’s not “recipe Friday”, but my schedule got thrown off by the official allowed reveal date for the Daring Cooks’ monthly challenge. I’ve officially become a Daring Cook! This entails learning about a secret recipe or theme from a private forum around the middle of each month, concocting over the ensuing weeks, and posting the results. By the middle of the following month, we are allowed to reveal the fruits (or vegetables!) of our labors to our readers in blog-land!

This past month’s theme was “edible containers”. After much websurfing and wanting to keep things on the cheaper side, I decided to make an edible bowl out of cereal snack mix, bound together by egg white. The original recipe can be found at the Food Network site, but I modified it and shaped it differently.

First of all, here’s what my final product looked like, filled with cashews (a snack bowl filled with… more snacks!):

edible snack bowl filled with... more snacks!

Here’s how to make it:

1. Make or buy about 8 cups of your favorite cereal snack mix. Preheat your oven to 300 F. (As for me, I mixed about 7 c corn Chex and a little over a c broken pretzels. Mix, in a bowl, 1/4 c grated parmesan, 2 t chili powder, and 1 T garlic powder. Drizzle 3 T vegetable oil over cereal/pretzels, and pour seasoning mix over top while stirring to coat evenly. Spread seasoned cereal/pretzels in jelly roll pan and bake at 250 F for 30 minutes, stirring halfway through. Remove and allow to cool.)

Cereal and pretzels!

seasonings waiting to be added!

2. Gather your 8 cups of snack mix into a large bowl. Meanwhile, whip two egg whites to stiff peaks. Add these egg whites to the cereal mix, stirring to coat the snack mix evenly.

Whipped egg white in cereal snack mix, waiting to be mixed in!

3. Choose your oven-resistant destination bowl of choice. The initial recipe uses a traditional round bowl, but I wanted something smaller and decided to go with multiple small loaf pans. Coat your container with oil or cooking spray, then gently press the cereal mix + egg white into the container, forming a shell. To hold the interior shape of the shell, add a layer of aluminum foil. (I didn’t experiment with thickness of my cereal containers, but I’m guessing it should be at least 1/2 inch thick. I didn’t go too much thicker because of the small size of my loaf pan.)

cereal snack mix pressed into the loaf pan--going into oven soon!

4. Put your prepared containers into a 300-degree F oven for 30 minutes. Then, remove them and let them cool (don’t touch!) for another 30 minutes. Then–fill them with whatever you choose! (I’d recommend against anything moist to avoid seepage…)

Can’t tell you what this month’s challenge is, yet! (I know what it is!) I promise you it’s a fun one, and I’ll tell you all about it mid-May!

You don’t have to have a food blog (or talk about food on your blog!) to become a Daring Chef! (Just a camera!) It’s a great way to think outside of the cooking box. (There’s a Daring Bakers’ challenge, too!)

What kind of edible container would you like to make? Be creative!

2 Responses to "Recipe Monday: Edible Container! :)"

That was a clever idea! Great job, and thanks for participating!

Thanks, Renata! So fun to take part, and I look forward to future months! 🙂

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 20 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
