You Can Get Fit!

The Times, They Are A Changin’

Posted on: May 11, 2011

Happy middle of the week!!! We’re doin’ it–Friday is in sight!

I was just taking a stroll down Memory Lane. Growing up living mostly with my grandparents, we all ate very traditionally, very middle-America. One of the things my grandfather loved was very simple: wide pasta noodles in chicken broth, seasoned with black pepper.

As I reached my weight-loss phase, I realized that this simple dish was “healthy” by the standards we’d set back then: it was low in calories and fat! (It was definitely high sodium, but I didn’t have blood pressure problems, so I was told not to worry about sodium.) So, I treated myself to this homemade noodle bowl a few times a week, because it was good for me.

Of course, I look back at that and shake my head. We called that “healthy”? I’d certainly call it “not too bad”, but now, I don’t give something a “healthy” label unless it contains a reasonable amount of nutrition… which this bowl of noodles does not. (Maybe a tiny bit of protein in the chicken broth? And we weren’t using whole wheat noodles…)

I find it interesting how the definition of “healthy” has changed, in the food industry, in the past 10-15 years. But I think it’s changed in a good way. More of us have been trained to reach for whole foods rather than processed foods, and nutrition labels are changing or the better, as well. (Now, whether or not we choose to read them is a different story…)

So, lest you think I’m totally nutrition-pious and deserve a halo……. I do eat my 5 servings of fruit and veg every day, and I drink a cup of green tea every day. I also get a lot of water. But, I do have something sweet on a daily basis, and it’s not always a healthy sweet (yesterday, I had yogurt sweetened with maple, but other days–look out!). I figure–if you hate everything you eat, what’s the point of living?

One more thing–my friend and fellow instructor Jessica has recently started blogging her experiences with P90X and Insanity. Check it out!

How has your definition of “healthy eating” changed over the past 10 years?

4 Responses to "The Times, They Are A Changin’"

“I figure–if you hate everything you eat, what’s the point of living?”

I think that is a great quote. It’s true that you need to go on living. I switch to eating Paleo about a year and a half ago and there are some foods (and drinks) I’m simply unwilling to give up. So far it hasn’t significantly hurt my fitness level. Sure, I might have a little more definition and a little more capacity if I gave up more, but it would significantly reduce my enjoyment of life. And isn’t that the whole point. We are trying to be fit enough so that we can enjoy life to the fullest.

A friend of mine used to be a gym rat and found himself working out one friday night instead of going out with his friends for a beer and realized “wait a minute, why am I slaving away over these weights trying to look my best for the ladies and I’m missing out on meeting any because I’m here in the gym instead of out with my friends”.

Not that we should use it as an excuse to eat whatever we wont, but you’ve got to give yourself “cheats” here and there, otherwise any diet plan becomes intolerable.

Hey Gary!

Love the story about your friend working out on Friday nights. And I love that he actually realized that his social workout goals weren’t being fulfilled, because… duh… he wasn’t going out! Glad that he made a change soon enough (but hope that he still is finding a balance and working out *sometimes*)!

Hi Brooke. Interesting post. Over the past ten years I’ve had a pretty healthy diet, but I still find myself making healthier and healthier choices as time goes on. The choices are subtle, but they add up. My last choice was to leave behind light Ranch dressing, and go with oil and vinegar. It was an easier switch than I anticipated, and I’m proud of myself for doing it. Sorry, Ranch, I’ll still visit you, but only on special occasions.

Hi Mary!

Good point that you make–the choices are subtle, but they add up. I mentioned a few weeks ago–and this is one of Leo Babauta’s points–our life changes don’t have to be an entire overhaul, all at once. This is a recipe for failure! As I’m sure you know 🙂 , if you make 20 lifestyle changes, you’ll feel miserable and not enjoy life. However, if you make one subtle change for the better–integrate it into the everyday–and repeat this process, you’ll eventually end up where you want to be, but the changes will all stick!
And–good for you that you *do* “visit” Ranch on special occasions. I don’t believe in all or nothing diets! Treats are a good thing–they keep us happy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 19 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
