You Can Get Fit!

Trust in Yourself, Gain the World

Posted on: May 31, 2011

Hey everybody! I’m back and refreshed from the three-day weekend… a birthday party, time at the neighbors’ cabin, lots of food! Hope you had good times!

Today, I learned about a writing challenge launched by The Domino Project, a publishing site. The inspiration comes from celebrating Ralph Waldo Emerson’s 208th birthday–someone who urged others to trust their instincts rather than follow the path of the majority. This challenge, called Trust30 (you can follow the #Trust30 hashtag on twitter) consists of 30 days of writing prompts, all inviting original thinking.

Of course, I was intrigued, and I’m thrilled to have found it on the first day, so I don’t have to catch up! So, lucky readers, I’ll be writing my Trust30 pieces here every day for the next month (interspersed with fitness content).

Here is the prompt for Day One:

You just discovered you have fifteen minutes to live.

1. Set a timer for fifteen minutes.
2. Write the story that has to be written.

So now, you can read my barely-edited copy below… here’s my story of the day.

**
In the past eighteen months, I have had two brushes with serious illness and/or immobility. I dealt with the two very differently, in spite of similar consequences.

January 2010 was when I realized that for months (6? 8?) my car had been slowly leaking exhaust–and therefore carbon monoxide–into the passenger compartment. I made the discovery on a Friday night of a three-day weekend, and therefore wouldn’t be able to visit the doctor until Tuesday. I pored over the internet to make sure I would survive the weekend, as the last few days of driving, the hose had completely disintegrated (and dumped all of the exhaust onto me). But I remember thinking that “if it was my time to go, so be it”, that I’d lived a good life. Totally nihilistic. Giving up.

Obviously I survived. Moving on to summer of that same year (2010), trying to recover from that April’s hip surgery, which had lots of issues (I ended up recently having a second surgery). Despite spending several months sitting around at home not knowing if I’d ever be able to walk normally again, or ever be able to work again, I fought it. Right when I was able, I started working out. I wanted to be stronger. I wanted to come back. I wanted to flip the bird at whatever life handed to me, and tell it that I could conquer whatever challenge it handed my way–despite all the bad news the second opinion doctors were giving to me. (I have strong prospects for a full recovery now, by the way.)

So, I ask you: when faced with a difficult life situation (health or otherwise), which version of me are you going to be? I sure hope that you’re going to be the second me. In my work, my #1 goal has always been to inspire… and I hope I’ve done that with my “final” story.

I have two minutes left out of the 15–long enough to give my husband a hug and kiss.
**
Please join me in this challenge! Again, you can read about it here and find the prompt of the day. I’d love to read what everyone else has to say!

6 Responses to "Trust in Yourself, Gain the World"

Of course, in fairness to you, the carbon monoxide can cause lethargy and other drags on “fighting” things. Regardless, definitely good to keep the “fighting” idea in mind. I want you around a long, long time! 🙂

Love this idea! oxox

Thanks, Brooke! More coming today! Read on!

[…] the end of summer, as I may have some fall work that can’t be interrupted. After all of my health problems over the past few years, I’ve been reminded that anything can happen, no matter how much we […]

[…] more about an interesting self-discovery writing challenge–and learn a whole lot more about […]

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 19 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
