You Can Get Fit!

Two Days of Writing Challenges

Posted on: June 4, 2011

Ack! Give me my dunce cap. I posted my yummy salad yesterday, but didn’t post anything regarding the writing challenge. Mea culpa. I’ve been in the middle of last-minute interviewing and hiring a new contractor for the business who starts teaching on Monday, and I got a surprise (which is super-secret for now!) while I was out auditioning contractors… Anyway, hiring done as of yesterday! (Paperwork still to be worked out…)

Excuses, excuses. Yesterday’s writing prompt reads:

That which each can do best, none but his Maker can teach him. Where is the master who could have taught Shakespeare? Where is the master who could have instructed Franklin, or Washington, or Bacon, or Newton? . . . Shakespeare will never be made by the study of Shakespeare. Do that which is assigned you, and you cannot hope too much or dare too much. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Identify one of your biggest challenges at the moment (ie I don’t feel passionate about my work) and turn it into a question (ie How can I do work I’m passionate about?) Write it on a post-it and put it up on your bathroom mirror or the back of your front door. After 48-hours, journal what answers came up for you and be sure to evaluate them.

Bonus: tweet or blog a photo of your post-it. (Author: Jenny Blake)

Obviously to be finished tomorrow….. or, whenever is the end of my 48-hour-period, since I haven’t yet come up with a thought. Maybe business expansion and moving into different business-to-business markets? I need to sleep on this one. (I keep thinking like an entrepreneurial geek. My true colors are shining through…. !!!)

Or, daring to dig deeper… fear of risk-taking. More on that later.

Anyway, before the dinner guest shows up, onto today’s writing prompt, which is a timely one:

If we live truly, we shall see truly. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Not everyone wants to travel the world, but most people can identify at least one place in the world they’d like to visit before they die. Where is that place for you, and what will you do to make sure you get there? (Author: Chris Guillebeau)

Ah, Chris. (Great guy, btw, if you ever get to meet him! Glad I did.) The past few days, I’ve been struggling with the idea of traveling before the end of summer, as I may have some fall work that can’t be interrupted. After all of my health problems over the past few years, I’ve been reminded that anything can happen, no matter how much we take care of ourselves. Unfortunately, I’m also reminded that everyone travels over the summer, and that’s no good for someone who’s been very underemployed the past 14 months. I hope I can work something out…

This doesn’t answer the question… I’ve seen 49 states, I’ve seen a lot of major cities in Europe, and I can’t say I have ONE spot I need to go. I’ve always told people that I’ll travel anywhere, as long as it’s interesting and safe. I don’t have a single “I won’t go there” country. Yet I have a strong pull to live in Germany, for whatever reason… I’ve really liked my visits there.

I guess I’m pleading the 5th. 😉

OK, all, dinner guest scheduled to arrive in two minutes! I made it in under the nose! (A few Indian recipes tonight! They may come up in a future post…)

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 19 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
