You Can Get Fit!

Who Are You? (trust30 time again!)

Posted on: June 8, 2011

I’m finding myself grouping these writing challenges together, so I don’t bombard you with two posts in a day… unless bombardment’s your style…

Which means you get bombarded with two writing challenge prompts at once. Again, if you’re just joining, this is part of the Trust30 Writing Challenge, 30 days worth of writing prompts inspiring us to trust ourselves and dig deeper.

Anyway, the past two days:

(tuesday 7 june) There will be an agreement in whatever variety of actions, so they be each honest and natural in their hour. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

What would you say to the person you were five years ago? What will you say to the person you’ll be in five years? (Author: Corbett Barr)

The first part for me is pretty simple–in fact, I can come up with a bunch of answers. Primarily, I never knew that my little hobby, teaching a few fitness classes, would become entrepreneurial and change my life the way it has! It’s been great! So, I would tell myself to be persistent in the fitness and Pilates field, despite all of my higher education, and not to feel ashamed of working in a field that requires a lot less education despite my 8 1/2 years of school. I feel that I’m providing much more of a service to the world doing what I am, now.

(Oh, and if only we’d known all of the ills of trans fats and HFCS. I’ve found it so much easier to control my weight when I’ve seriously cut back those items, as well as processed foods. If I could only go back and tell myself to cook more and let loose experimenting in the kitchen…)

The hard part is what to tell the “five years from now” me. I’ve felt fairly stagnant the past year, and I hope not to have to use the same “hang in there, good things are yet to come” mantra I’ve been repeating over and over again. I’ve recently broken a few business barriers, so I hope to say… “2011 was a great year for the business, when we expanded from that tiny little thing to several corporate clients, but don’t slack off–remember the mental toughness you gained that year.”

Now, on to today’s prompt:

(wed 8 june) The other terror that scares us from self-trust is our consistency; a reverence for our past act or word, because the eyes of others have no other data for computing our orbit than our past acts, and we are loath to disappoint them. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Emerson says: “Always do what you are afraid to do.” What is ‘too scary’ to write about? Try doing it now. (Author: Mary Jaksch)

What am I most scared to do? There are a lot of things we’re all scared to do. For me, one of them is performing songs I’ve written in public. I used to do this every few months at a variety of events, with little fear. I used to readily perform for friends. But something happened over the past few years, and I am now fearful of solo public performance. I understand part of the reason (negative politics in a band where I played and sang a while back) but my response is so strong.

This past weekend, friends were over and asked me to perform (piano/vocal). I went ahead with it, despite recent allergy issues. I wasn’t at my best, by far, but I did it, and they were appreciative friends. Maybe this small performance took me a step in the right direction… I can only hope!

How far have you come in the past five years? I never would’ve expected to do what I’m doing now, and it’s wonderful! Share your story!

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 20 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
