You Can Get Fit!

Not Very Prompt (trust30)

Posted on: June 11, 2011

Urgh. Not only am I a day behind on writing prompts, but I slacked on my Recipe Friday promise to you! It’s all for good reasons, I tell you: I’m still dealing with the aftermath of business growth, and I’m working through some offers to teach Pilates at a few locations, not to mention hosting a few friends a few times for dinner this weekend (hey, the house stays clean-ish)… So, I owe you two posts today!

Again, two writing prompts in one. First is from Friday:

Imitation is Suicide. Insist on yourself; never imitate. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Write down in which areas of your life you have to overcome these suicidal tendencies of imitation, and how you can transform them into a newborn you – one that doesn’t hide its uniqueness, but thrives on it. There is a “divine idea which each of us represents” – which is yours? (Author: Fabian Kruse)

Ah, I think I take the opposite of this post to an extreme. I have such a nonconformist, “adult goth” mindset that I really want to be unique, almost to the point of making myself obsolete and/or working myself to the bone. For instance, when I write music, I’m constantly trying to think of “brand new chord structures” (yeah, right, what hasn’t been done before?). More practically, in terms of business development, I sometimes find myself thinking of really “unique” business angles in the fitness industry–those niches that haven’t been used before. Then I remind myself that maybe there’s a reason that people haven’t pursued these niches, or that maybe people have tried and failed at these niches (no market). There’s a reason that people around the world at M&M’s, drink Coke, etc etc. Rather than try something in the same sector but totally left-field different, why not create something just marginally different?

Just saying that in some cases, imitation can be good, and I need to convince myself of that.

(What was I saying about brevity a few days ago?)

(saturday 11 june) These are the voices which we hear in solitude, but they grow faint and inaudible as we enter into the world. Society everywhere is in conspiracy against the manhood of every one of its members. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Is fear holding you back from living your fullest life and being truly self expressed? Put yourself in the shoes of the you who’s already lived your dream and write out the answers to the following:

Is the insecurity you’re defending worth the dream you’ll never realize? or the love you’ll never venture? or the joy you’ll never feel?

Will the blunder matter in 10 years? Or 10 weeks? Or 10 days? Or 10 minutes?

Can you be happy being anything less than who you really are?

Now Do. The Thing. You Fear. (Author: Lachlan Cotter)

You know, I’ve met a lot of fearful people recently, moreso that I used to. I think we’ve become a nation of wimps. I like to think of myself as a relative risktaker: I have enough safety nets in place for myself, I have relatively little debt, so why not go ahead with it?

I think I’ve been holding back from public performance of my piano/vocal songs, but I even did that for a few friends last week. (What was the risk? They weren’t going to go all over Seattle telling the city how terrible I am.) Not performing at coffeehouses has been more a logistical issue of finally getting around to repairing my amp (taking it to a store), but right when I realized that I needed to do so, I got caught in the throes of expanding my business–which always comes first.

So, I’ll perform for more friends before the end of the year, definitely. It wasn’t that hard.

In terms of other fearful things: I’ve done some cold-calling to market my business (but need to get around to making a trifold), I’ve quit careers that weren’t right for me…

Probably the scariest thing right now is parting with money (since income is low) to do fun things (like travel) while my health is OK. I’ve had enough health problems to scare me out of procrastination, yet whenever I look at airfares to anywhere, I put aside the laptop. I’m too scared to commit to forking over thousands of dollars, knowing the several months I’d be semi-working and waiting to replenish the stash (hopefully). I keep pretending that the explorer that I am has just as much fun sitting in my living room each day, looking at other peoples’ pictures. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 20 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
