You Can Get Fit!

Two Recipes Friday! Curried Barley and Chickpeas, and…

Posted on: June 17, 2011

Summer is almost officially here!

(Well….. sort of. Do you live in the Northwest, like me? It’s still cloudy. “Warm”, to us, is high 50’s. I am one of a handful of people seriously plotting an escape. Of course, now that I’ve said that, The Universe has started to conspire against me with several job opportunities, all here. Waaahhh. Feel sorry for me. 😉 )

Anyway. I’ve decided to call off the Trust30 writing challenge until a better writing prompt comes along. The past few days, every prompt has been some manifestation of “list your top five dreams, and what has been holding you back from pursuing them?” Considering I’ve already written about that twice during the challenge, I’ll refrain from boring you all anymore… Maybe I’m just not the target audience for the challenge.

Now, for the recipes!

For those of you who live in areas that have been either blessed or cursed by the sun, I thought I’d remind you of one of my favorite salads. I’ll be tossing this together in a bit and taking it to a housewarming tonight. It’s a Recipe Friday from last year, and it is…

Hot And Sour Slaw

You can make it as hot as you like, but the base of the salad is bok choy and red bell pepper. The sour comes from apple cider vinegar. Simple, quick, and fabulous! 🙂

Now, for the Recipe Friday Double Feature

Earlier this week, I was intrigued by this vegan Curried Barley and Chickpeas from Anne at Fannetastic Food. Curry, barley, chickpeas… three things I love!

I made it, and… it was just OK. I let it sit for about 30 minutes, and it was scrumptious! The problem was that I tried to eat it hot! And it’s much better cold. Much, much better.

Both are recipes I wouldn’t hesitate to take to potlucks–they will get eaten up! (The salad is very colorful!)

Happy weekend! What will you do to celebrate the first week of summer?

2 Responses to "Two Recipes Friday! Curried Barley and Chickpeas, and…"

I will take a long bike ride, and then settle in and try to write some pages for my book.

Hi Mary!

I’m checking in a few days late (it’s been eventful!) but wanted to see how the book is coming… ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 19 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
