You Can Get Fit!

My Progress!

Posted on: June 25, 2011

Long time, no see! It’s been almost a week since I’ve seen you last–sorry! All of those writing prompts totally burned me out…

But I really want to share with you my progress over the past month! Remember a month ago, when I set that big goal to lose 10 pounds and tighten up overall? (I’d just finished 3 months on crutches after a major hip surgery, so I was feeling really out of shape…)

I took some follow-up pictures yesterday to compare with those I took a month ago. I can’t believe I’m posting swimsuit pics on the internet… scary… but here goes:

This was me on May 21, 2011:
me in may 2011

Compare that with me on June 24, 2011:
me in june '11

(Apologies for the wet, just-out-of-shower hair!!)

So, a little slimmer, maybe? I’m down the 3 pounds that I gained after the surgery–some days, the scale registers 4.

In any case, things are moving in the right direction! I’ll continue towards my goal of 10 pounds down total (meaning, 6-7 more pounds lost) and firming myself up in general by following the same plan:

  • Cardio daily, at least 30 min. I’m restricted in terms of what I can do, but as my strength builds, I can (and have been!!) increase intensity.
  • 3 upper body weight sessions per week
  • Daily Pilates, at least 30 min
  • I’ll add in some walking as it feels OK–it’s functional exercise!
  • Cut back on, but not eliminate, fats and simple carbs
  • 5+ servings fruits and veggies daily.

I’ll revisit this a month from now with more photos! It’s a great non-scale way to measure your progress (in addition to seeing how clothes fit and taking measurements).

How are you all doing with your health and nutrition plans?

2 Responses to "My Progress!"

Was it a hip replacement? I had a hip replaced almost exactly a year ago and am more than back to normal–better than before surgery. Yippee! Just swam a mile without stopping So, hang in there You’ll be amazed. And, keep writing! I enjoy your posts. From your fellow Pacific Northwesterner–Mary R.

Thanks, Mary, for the encouragement! And I hope you’re getting the fantastic weather that we are up here in Seattle today! 🙂
I hope to be back to “normal”–I fell and had a major cartilage tear, which most people can’t easily do, but I was born with too deep a hip socket and a femoral head that isn’t round (rather lumpy). So, the first surgery fixed the tear and made a small effort at my bony abnormality, but just enough that I did a lot of cartilage damage again and needed a second surgery–remodeling the bone completely and fixing a second cartilage tear. Hoping the best for everything!

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 19 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
