You Can Get Fit!

Try This Salad–No Cooking Involved!

Posted on: June 28, 2011

I am living in Foodie Hell. I am sinus infected to the point where I cannot taste anything, and have been here for days. I drink a lot of tea, which is really just hot water. Coffee is also hot water, but I can taste a tiny amount of bitterness.

The upside is that I’m eating really small amounts. I’m sure I’ve lost weight. (for all the wrong reasons…)

Anyway! The last day that I could taste food thoroughly–last Wednesday–I took this salad to a potluck. I’d made it for dinner with friends the previous weekend because it sounded like it was going to be good, from the recipe… and it was OUTSTANDING.

Not only does it blend chewy bulgur, tangy tomato and lemon, crunchy and slightly sweet pistachios, and just a hint of spice–but this salad requires no cooking, not much prep work, and… it’s healthy! (Are you sold, yet?)

Here, rather than rehydrating bulgur with water or stock, it’s rehydrated with tomato juice and lemon juice. So light and refreshing!

Batrik (Bulgur and Tomato Salad with Nuts)
adapted from The Best Recipes In The World

4 medium tomatoes, cored (canned are fine, which is what I used–tomatoes haven’t been good this year)
1/2 c bulgur
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp pure chile powder (like ancho or New Mexico) or hot pepper flakes
dash cayenne, or to taste
1 small white onion, minced
1/3 c shelled pistachios
Salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste

1. Puree the tomatoes in a blender or food processor; strain. Mix the bulgur with the tomato juice and lemon juice and set aside for about an hour or until the grains are tender.

2. Toss the bulgur mixture with the remaining ingredients. Taste and adjust the seasoning, then serve!

Wow… so few words in that recipe! Isn’t that simple? And it’s light, yummy, and fresh….. great in the summertime!

I’ll be finding and posting a lot more of my summertime favorites in the coming months. Any requests?

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 20 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
