You Can Get Fit!

Recipe Friday: Chickpea Salad Sandwich

Posted on: July 29, 2011

It’s Friiiiiiday!!! Finally, time for a recipe. How many weeks has it been?

This one is a quick and easy one… and it’s good. Good to take for a picnic or hike, too. Or… if you’re lazy at home and don’t have too many things in the pantry. (who…. me?)

I’ve seen versions of this on the web–and I simplified it quite a bit–that add all sorts of ingredients to make it taste like tuna salad. Seriously? I love me some chickpeas enough that I just want to embellish on their nutty creaminess. I don’t want to make my beloved chickpea something that it’s not. All hail the chickpea!

Anyway, this is a smashing sandwich filling, similar to tuna salad or egg salad. It’s very portable, it’s vegetarian (and can be made vegan), and a darn sight tasty.

Chickpea Salad Sandwich
adapted from various

1 can (15 oz) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
2-4 tbsp mayo (regular/canola oil/light/whatever variety)
1-3 tbsp grainy or spicy mustard
2-3 scallions, minced
1 rib celery, minced (I don’t like celery–skipped)

2 slices of your favorite bread
1-2 slices ripe tomato

1. Place the chickpeas in a bowl and rough-mash them with a fork. You don’t want any whole beans.

2. Add the mayo and mustard. Choose the amount of mayo based on how thick or spreadable you want the mixture to be. Mix in the scallions (and icky celery, if using). I used my own homemade mustard…. oooohh, there’s another Recipe Friday for a future week!!

3. Toast your bread slices.

4. Spread 1/2 chickpea mixture (should be enough for two sandwiches) on one slice of bread. Top with tomato slices (or any other favorite sandwich topping: red onion slices, lettuce… totally up to you!) and the second slice of bread. You are ready to eat!

**Do note that you may want to carry any fresh produce separately if you are taking the sandwich on a hike/picnic/etc to keep the bread from getting soggy.

Hey, it’s almost August! I hear we’re going to have Summer #2 this weekend… it’s on parole for another 72 hours. We may get over 70 degrees again!!! (If only there were a way to equilibrate the temps throughout the country, eh?)

What do you guys think about chickpeas? Are you in love with them as much as I am? 🙂

4 Responses to "Recipe Friday: Chickpea Salad Sandwich"

Hi Brooke. I’m beginning to use chickpeas, for hummus, for example, and Iove them. Not sure I’d marry them, as I would my bike, or the color purple, but I’d date them. 🙂

I’ll have to try your recipe. Thanks!

Mary–ha! Cute comment! 😀 I am close to marrying chickpeas, gotta say, but I’ve already been married 10 years….. and he comes first. 🙂

i never thought of using chickpeas for a sandwich, but i love the idea. def going to try this one!

B–I wouldn’t have thought of this particular application, either. But it’s definitely good! I might have to add minced red onions next time (hopefully they won’t overpower).

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 20 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
