You Can Get Fit!

Recipe Friday: Homemade Mustard (and happy birthday)

Posted on: August 5, 2011

Happy Birthday To Me!

Before I give you my address for sending gifts, though, just a quick recipe for the week (and then, I have to get myself out celebrating). I’d heard about people making their own mustard, and thought… naaaahhh, too complex. Can’t do it.

But then, I talked to a few people, who convinced me. I also read a few recipes, and they sounded simple. Low risk recipe… so I did it. And here it is, for all of you. You won’t get the smoothness of a squirty yellow mustard, but this is so much more delicious!

Homemade Mustard
adapted from How To Cook Everything

1/4 c yellow mustard seeds
1/4 c brown or black mustard seeds (be sure not to use all yellow–too harsh otherwise)
1/2 c red wine or water (I used water)
1/2 c vinegar (any vinegar with at least 5% acidity–I used half red wine and half balsamic)
Pinch salt

1. Put all of the ingredients in a jar with a tight-fitting lid or other sealed container. (Don’t use metal; it will corrode.) Shake or stir, then set aside to soak for a day or two.

2. Put the mixture in a blender and puree for several minutes to grind, adding a little extra water as needed to keep the machine running. Stop and scrape the sides down once or twice and repeat. You can control the coarseness by how long you blend (it’ll never get completely smooth). Taste and add more salt, if you’d like.

3. Return the mustard to the container and cover tightly. Store in a cool, dark place (or refrigerator) for up to several months.

**Other things to add to the mustard (individually or together): of course you can change the vinegar variety (I think rice vinegar is the only one not acidic enough), 1/4 tsp cayenne, 1 tbsp chopped fresh tarragon, 1 tsp minced fresh rosemary, 2 tbsp honey, 2-3 mashed cloves of roasted garlic… lots of different options…

I’ve used this mustard as a pretzel dip, in salad dressings, in potato salad, on sandwiches… really, anywhere you’d use mustard! But now, you have bragging rights. Tell your friends that you made this mustard. They’ll think you’re all gourmet and stuff. Don’t let on how easy it is, okay?

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 19 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
