You Can Get Fit!

Recipe Friday: Roasted Corn and Black Bean Salad

Posted on: September 2, 2011

Recipe Friday is back! Did you miss me???

How’s that for a last hurrah of the summer? Summery roasted corn and garlic goodness, y’all! Yummmm! Customizable to your own level of spiciness and everything!

With no further ado (I’ve been a little rambly lately), here’s the recipe.

Roasted Corn and Black Bean Salad
adapted from The Best Recipes In The World (Bittman)

2 tbsp olive oil
4 ears corn, husked and stripped off their kernels
**OK. I admit that I’ve made this off-season and used 12 oz thawed frozen corn. Culinary police, I give myself up to you!
Salt and black pepper to taste
1 (or more) garlic clove, minced
1 1/2 c cooked (or canned/drained/rinsed) black beans
1 ripe tomato, cored and diced
1 tsp minced jalapeno (or other small chile)–or add more for additional heat!
2 tbsp fresh lime juice
I also like adding a dash of cumin
Chopped fresh cilantro leaves for garnish

1. Put the oil in a large nonstick skillet and turn the heat to high. Add the corn, along with a large pinch of salt and some pepper, and cook, shaking the pan or stirring occasionally, until the corn is lightly charred, 5-10 minutes. Add the garlic and cook for 1 minute more, stirring.

2. Combine the corn with all the remaining ingredients. Taste and adjust the seasoning and serve, or cover and refrigerate for up to a couple of hours, then bring back to room temperature before serving.

There! Simple, fresh recipe. Works as a complete light lunch. Short and sweet! Enjoy!

Happy Labor Day–I’m headed out to enjoy the sunny day! I hope the weather is great where you are. Let’s all make the best of it, and I’ll see you next week!

2 Responses to "Recipe Friday: Roasted Corn and Black Bean Salad"

I love meals like this! They make me feel so good about the food I’m putting in my body.

And it’s totally fine to use frozen or canned produced in the off season. I think the culinary police prefer this to consumers buying fresh produce shipped from elsewhere in the world.

*whew* Escaped with just a warning, again! Flirting with the officer must’ve worked.

First time I made this was when I had a few friends over, and it went together quickly… so that I had enough time to put several dishes together! It was nice to have variety.

Have a great holiday weekend!

(Temptress! When I went to your blog, the first thing I saw was a yummy-looking avocado salad! Evil! I want, NOW!!! 😀 )

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 20 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
