You Can Get Fit!

Recipe Friday: Peach Caprese Salad

Posted on: September 24, 2011

Good morning! (Well… it is here…) In fact, it’s Saturday when I’m posting my Recipe Friday, again. However, first of all, spent more time at medical facilities yesterday, and secondly, after last night’s dinner I made for friends, I changed my mind on the recipe for this week!

I guess the biggest excitement is that the treatment that the UW people are giving me is significantly helping my voice problems… going from 2 1/2 months of nothing to finally being able to make sound is incredible! (I might sound sometimes sultry and sometimes like a 12 year old boy, but–I’ll take it over nothing!) Such a huge breakthrough…

On to the recipe: we’re experiencing one last round of summer up here. It was actually almost unbearably hot here yesterday–80’s and really sunny–so when I made plans to have friends over for dinner, I didn’t want the stove on too much.

Additionally, many of our grocery stores are selling wonderful late-season peaches, and I wanted to take advantage. So, I found a lovely salad, posted by Mother Thyme on her website:

Spinach Peach Caprese Salad

Her pictures are superb. I made the following changes:

  • Used red instead of yellow tomatoes, just due to price/availabilty. I imagine she uses yellow mostly for aesthetics.
  • I used all spinach, no arugula. I love arugula, but I’ve found that this year, it’s had too woody a texture, here. I thought it would detract from the softness of the peaches and the mozzarella.
  • Not a change that I actually made, but I might actually up the lemon:balsamic ratio next time, and reduce the amount of liquid added. Too much dressing, and the greens were threatening to get soggy. Maybe I didn’t reduce my balsamic enough…

All together, this was a wonderful salad that even Bruce ate! (though I know he was going through the serving bowl to find the cheese) and I loved the flavor of the whole basil leaves mixed in with the spinach.

So, make this NOW while there are still a few fresh peaches around! You will not regret it! It definitely got me out of the ritual “peach cobbler”, “peach smoothie”….. etc etc…. hum-drum recipe mode.

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 20 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
