You Can Get Fit!

Got Goals?

Posted on: October 2, 2011

Hi! We’re heading into a new week of a new month, and what better time to revisit our fitness goals?

go team!

A lot of us–myself included–just go through the motions when we work out. “If it’s Tuesday, it must be spin class day.” I applaud us for going and getting our workout on!

But if we had longer-term fitness goals–and tailored our workouts toward these goals–we would likely have greater success! Awesome, right?

So, what do I mean by this? Instead of “just going to the gym and working out”, maybe you want to train for a 5K race. Or, you want to have have a killer upper body. Or, you want to eliminate your lower back pain. Or shed a stubborn 5 pounds.

You get the idea. I find that if I have something more tangible to focus on, I hit my workouts harder! If I’m just working out because I think I should, I tend not to give it my best.

I have a few goals, currently, but a major focus right now is more serious weight lifting. After having been halfhearted for years, I’m going with a bodybuilding routine I found online (and I’m almost done with week 4). What I hope to get out of this:
*More lean muscle mass, increasing my metabolism 24/7
*More upper body strength for a) general functionality and b) for crazy yoga arm balances
*Sculpted shoulders look hot! (This means I have to maintain them ’til next summer… that’s motivation!)
*This is also my first real lower-body strength routine since my first hip surgery in April 2010, so it’s helping me rebuild down there, which has been helpful in my return to running (another goal right now)…

I have another 2 months left in this plan. I don’t know what it has me do after that. I may focus on running and cut back on weights for the month after that, and then restart it (so that I have hot summer arms!).

I would love to hear your goals for the upcoming month, or for the rest of the year! Put ’em down!

**Disclaimer, before I get a slew of comments: I agree that it is perfectly fine, now and then, to work out for the enjoyment of working out. And maybe that is your goal, after all: just to find the joy in every day. In which case… I challenge you to find your favorite workout, and carve out time for it as frequently as possible. 🙂

Leave a Reply

I'd love to connect with you! Find me on Facebook, follow me on twitter, or sign up for email updates below!

Join 19 other followers

Top Rated

Brooke is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
